Primary Elections

Primary Elections are held on the second Tuesday of June in even-numbered years. 

The five qualified parties in which voters may currently enroll are: Democratic, Green-Independent, Libertarian, No Labels,  and Republican.  A voter who does not choose an enrollment is called "Unenrolled" and is listed on the voting list as "U". 

Maine has a "semi-open primary" system. Voters who are enrolled in one of the five qualified parties are eligible to participate in that Party's Primary Election. Voters who are not enrolled in a party (i.e. Unenrolled) may vote in a Party Primary of their choice.